Tom McGaughey Fire Service Award Nominations

On the evening of Thursday, November 21, 1968, a fire alarm was received from the Yingling Chevrolet Company of Wichita, Kansas. While fighting the fire, the roof collapsed and Fire Chief Tom McGaughey, Chief Fire Inspector M.O. Wells, and firefighters Dale J. Mishler and Jimmy Lee Austin were trapped under tons of burning debris and twisted steel.  For those fellow firefighters at the scene, as well as those who manned the stations that night, the tragedy and the horror of it all was etched in their minds forever.

In 1971, in memory of Chief Tom McGaughey, his fellow firefighters and this tragic event, an award was established in his name to commend a fire department and the firefighters whose bravery and courage went above and beyond the call of duty.

This year marks the 45th year of Tom McGaughey Fire Service Award, which will be presented at the Kansas State Association of Fire Chiefs annual conference in October.


To nominate commendable firefighters for the Tom McGaughey Fire Service Award –

Nomination form


Posted by Gwen Dorr Romine, KSFFA Webmaster
KSFFA’s Fire News Blog Home Page
KSFFA Facebook

0 Responses to “Tom McGaughey Fire Service Award Nominations”

  1. Leave a Comment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: