Russell County EMS Receives Hansen Grant for AEDs

By David Elliott
KRSL – May 18, 2018

Russell County EMS recently received a Dane G. Hansen Foundation grant to purchase 14 Automated External Defibrillator (AED) portable devices.

AEDs check heart rhythm and can send an electric shock to the heart to try to restore a normal rhythm. AEDs are used to treat Sudden Cardiac Arrest (SCA). SCA is a condition in which the heart suddenly and unexpectedly stops beating.

The grant is for $11,900 according to Russell County EMS. The total cost of the AEDs is $23,730. The rest of the cost will be split between the Russell County departments.

Each Russell County Rural Fire Station will receive a new AED, the US Army Corps of Engineers and the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism at Wilson Lake will receive three AEDs, and one AED will go to the Russell County 4-H Building.


Posted by Gwen Dorr Romine, KSFFA Webmaster
KSFFA’s Fire News Blog Home Page
KSFFA Facebook

0 Responses to “Russell County EMS Receives Hansen Grant for AEDs”

  1. Leave a Comment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: