Russell Fire Department awards

By David Elliott
KRSL – May 3, 2018

The Russell City Fire Department and Firefighters Relief Association annual meeting and awards banquet was held Wednesday evening at the Fossil Creek Hotel and Suites Dole-Specter Conference Center in Russell.

The City Fire Department’s achievements in 2017 were discussed and recognized.

According to Fire Chief Shane Preston, the City Fire Department responded to 241 incidents and 41 department drills in 2017.

The Earl Hemphill Award for Outstanding Leadership was presented to Assistant Fire Chief Steve Knopp (pictured above with Chief Preston).

The Firefighter of the Year Award was presented to Dylan Riedel.

Fire Captain Steve Wells was recognized for 25 years of service. Michelle Craven was also recognized for five years of service (not pictured).

Jesse Schreiner was recognized for completing Kansas State Firefighters Association certifications for vehicle extrication, skills trailer and burn trailer.

And the following firefighters were recognized for responding to the required standard of calls and drills set forth by the Department: Assistant Fire Chief Knopp, Captain Wells, Lieutenants Brandon Dinkel and Jordan Harrison, and firefighters Amber Whitmer, Rick Webb, Riedel, Marc Nichols, Craven and Logan Langhofer.

Pictured: Knopp, Nichols, Whitmer, Webb, Riedel, Harrison, Dinkel, Wells and Preston.


Posted by Gwen Dorr Romine, KSFFA Webmaster
KSFFA’s Fire News Blog Home Page
KSFFA Facebook

0 Responses to “Russell Fire Department awards”

  1. Leave a Comment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: