Spotlight on bravery and courage

By David Dinell
Derby Informer – December 27, 2017

ABOVE: Derby Fire Chief Brad Smith, far left, joins Kansas State Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen, far right, and Derby Mayor Randy Smith, center, to honor firefighters Aaron Fent, Skyeler Reynolds, Brady Scifres, Hector Gonzalez and Kenneth Linot for their efforts to rescue a victim in a Derby fire with the presentation of the Tom McGaughey Award on Dec. 12 at City Hall. Also named but not available for the photo were Kyle Gasaway and Chris Hodges.

At the award presentation, Smith provided details of the incident: at 4:40 a.m. on Nov. 14, 2016, Derby’s “A” Crew responded to a house fire with the report of a person trapped inside. Firefighters encountered heavy smoke and flames but were able to remove the elderly victim from the house.

The Tom McGaughey Award award is in honor of four local firefighters: Wichita Fire Chief Tom McGaughey, Fire Inspector M. O. Wells and firefighters Dale Mishler and Jimmy Austin. They were trapped under tons of burning debris in the Nov. 21, 1968, Yingling Chevrolet fire in Wichita. All four men perished.

In their memory, the Tom McGaughey Award was established in 1971 to recognize fire departments and firefighters whose bravery and courage went above and beyond the call of duty.


Posted by Gwen Dorr Romine, KSFFA Webmaster
KSFFA’s Fire News Blog Home Page

0 Responses to “Spotlight on bravery and courage”

  1. Leave a Comment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: