Fire Safety Poster Contest Winners Honored by Gov. Brownback and Fire Marshal Jorgensen

By Kevin Doel

Students from across the state recently put their creative talents to work to help spread the message about the importance of smoke alarms and fire safety by participating in the Fire Safety Poster contest conducted annually by the Office of the State Fire Marshal. The agency is delighted to announce the winners of this contest who were honored this morning by Governor Brownback and State Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen at a ceremony in the Governor’s office.

The winning posters, along with those earning Honorable Mention recognition, have been featured on a display in the Capitol Building rotunda this, and are now on the website and printed in the 2017 Fire Safety Calendar.

The competition kicked off in October in conjunction with Fire Prevention Week. The poster contest is designed to support the fire safety education efforts of local fire departments.

“Teaching fire safety to our youngest learners in Kansas is critical to promoting a safer Kansas for the future,” said State Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen. “We very much appreciate the efforts of all students who participated, and the schools and teachers who recognize the importance of ensuring their students know about this important subject.”

Schools across Kansas encouraged participation from their students, who demonstrated their knowledge of fire safety that they have learned in school or at home. A few of the poster themes included the importance of working smoke alarms, replacing smoke alarms that are more than ten years old, having a fire escape plan with a designated meeting place, getting out of a burning structure quickly, and the dangers of playing with fire.

The Poster Contest was divided into three categories: Kindergarten through Second Grade, Third and Fourth Grades, and Fifth and Sixth Grades.

Earning the top spot in the 5th-6th Grade Category is Reese Brittain, a fifth grade student at Wolf Creek Elementary in Spring Hill. The winner of the 3rd-4th Grade Category is Landon Williams, a 4th grade student at West Franklin Elementary in Pomona. The winner of the Kindergarten-2nd Grade Category is Crestan Schwein, a 2nd grade student at Colwich Elementary in Colwich.

Several students’ entries are being recognized as “Honorable Mentions” and their posters are also featured in the annual Fire Safety Calendar along with the winners.

Students earning Honorable Mention include:

Viktoria Collins, 1st Grade, Medicine Lodge Grade School, Medicine Lodge, Kansas
Sophie Fehrenbach, 2nd Grade, Tonganoxie Elementary, Tonganoxie, Kansas
Bennett Jacobs, 2nd Grade, Ellinwood Grade School, Ellinwood, Kansas
Drake Loveall, 3rd Grade, Gridley Elementary, Gridley, Kansas
Shyria Quintana, 3rd Grade, Ellinwood Grade School, Ellinwood, Kansas
Hannah Hartley, 4th Grade, Tonganoxie Elementary, Tonganoxie, Kansas
Madalyn Krueger, 5th Grade, Wolf Creek Elementary, Spring Hill, Kansas
Jyston Stone, 5th Grade, Gridley Elementary, Gridley, Kansas
Alivia Kaiser, 6th Grade, Lincoln-Central Elementary, Cherryvale, Kansas


Posted by Gwen Dorr Romine, KSFFA Webmaster
KSFFA’s Fire News Blog Home Page

0 Responses to “Fire Safety Poster Contest Winners Honored by Gov. Brownback and Fire Marshal Jorgensen”

  1. Leave a Comment